Contact UsContactez Nous
Menu

The History of Vermilion in France

Vermilion established itself in France in 1997 through the acquisition of oil assets.  As a geographical area with high hydrocarbon potential, France – and Western Europe in general – is a strong focus for our company. 

Between 1997 and 2012, Vermilion made several acquisitions in France and quickly became the largest oil producer in France, with approximately 75% of the country’s production.  We employ 200 people directly, along with some 400 people from subcontracting companies throughout the year.  Since 1997, we have invested heavily and continuously in our French activities (1.2 Billion Euros), resulting in increased production and increased opportunities for our stakeholders.

1997
Acquisition of 636 m3 (636,000 liters) of production per day in France from Exxon in January 1997 for $45 million. Thanks to a program of very successful work on existing wells, Vermilion increased French production by 50% to 959 m3 (959,000 liters) by the end of 1997. 
2006
Acquisition of the remaining Exxon production assets in France, adding 556.5 m3 (556,500 liters) per day, for an amount of $141.4 million.  Vermilion also acquired the remaining 10% interest in France from an Exxon partner.  Combined, these acquisitions added a total of 620.1 m3 (620,100 liters) per day of oil to Vermilion's French production. 
2008
Vermilion signed a 25-year partnership with Tom d'Aqui in Parentis-en-Born (Aquitaine Basin) to create an eco-friendly environment, heating what is now 15 hectares of greenhouses through the recovery of heat energy from its produced water near the site.  For more information click here (link to responsibility page). 
2010
Vermilion is recognized as a Best Workplace in France by the Great Place to Work Institute™ 
2011
Vermilion is recognized as a Best Workplace in France by the Great Place to Work Institute™ 
2012

Acquisition of commercial interests of Total E&P for $108 million in January, in six oil fields based in the Aquitaine and Paris basins in France. These acquisitions added approximately 349.8 m3 (349,800 liters) of oil per day to production.

Vermilion made another acquisition in France in December, buying from Zaza Energy an additional production of 135.15 m3 (135 150 liters) per day of oil for $86 million.

Vermilion is recognized as a Best Workplace in France by the Great Place to Work Institute™

2013

On December 3, in Paris, the Ministry of the Environment, Sustainable Development and Energy honored the eco-responsible partnership between Vermilion and Tom d'Aqui by awarding them the 2013 National Circular Economy Award , in the category "Industrial and Regional Ecology." This award recognizes economically successful companies operating within a circular economy, in which activities and processes conserve, reuse and regulate natural resources to better protect our environment.

Vermilion is recognized as a Best Workplace in France by the Great Place to Work Institute™

2014

In our first year of participation, Vermilion was ranked 2nd out of 13 by the Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP).* Vermilion scored 87 out of 100 (10 points higher than our peers).
The company received this year's "Special Award for Socially Responsible Business" for its community investment, sponsorship projects and Days of Caring.

Vermilion is recognized as a Best Workplace in France by the Great Place to Work Institute™

2015

In our second year of participation, Vermilion was ranked 1st by the Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)* with a score of 100 (highest score).

Vermilion is recognized as a Best Workplace in France by the Great Place to Work Institute™

2016

In Gironde, in La Teste de Buch, Vermilion partners in the building of an eco-district, for which we provide free heat for 30 years. This benefits 550 homes thanks to the heat calories recovered from the water within our oil production process.

In 2016, Vermilion achieved the "A" List level of recognition from Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)* as the only North American company in the energy sector on the list. Vermilion is one of only five companies in the oil and gas sector worldwide to be named to the "A" list.

Vermilion is recognized as a Best Workplace in France by the Great Place to Work Institute™

2017

Vermilion achieved a leadership level score of "A -";  from Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)* we were one of only 13 companies globally[YJ1]  and the only North American energy sector company to achieve a Leadership score.

Vermilion is recognized as a Best Workplace in France by the Great Place to Work Institute™

2018

Vermilion signed a partnership with the town hall of Ittveville to heat its eco-district Vermilion is committed to providing free heating as long as we produce oil in this area, benefiting 900 homes, the new police station and existing premises.

Vermilion is recognized as Best Workplace in France by the Great Place to Work Institute™

2019
Vermilion achieved a score of “ A-“ on the Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)* list; we were one of only 13 oil and gas companies worldwide to receive a leadership score.

On March 12th, Vermilion was honored to sign the Natura 2000 Charter for the « Zones humides d’arrières dunes des Pays de Born et de Buch » site in Gastes (Landes). This site includes a chain of large lakes and their main tributaries in Northern Landes and Southern Gironde.

Vermilion now maintains its lakeside platforms in the region with mechanical brushing and mowing. Previously, we used phytosanitary products for the maintenance of these areas.

 * The Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP) is a non-profit organization (based in London) that administers a comprehensive environmental disclosure system, which supports the assessment and management of the environmental impacts of environmental information. activities.  Vermilion reports annually, on a voluntary basis, on its emissions data, and attaches to identifying and realizing opportunities that allow it to work in an even more sustainable way, both environmentally and socially. 


(Unless otherwise noted, references on this website to "Vermilion", or "the Company", or "we", or "our" collectively refer herein to any or all of the people and operations associated with Vermilion Energy Inc. and/or its subsidiaries including its French subsidiary Vermilion Energy France REP SAS whose operations and activities are the focus of this website)

Vermilion REP SAS
Route de Pontenx
40160 Parentis-en-Born, France
Phone +33 (0)5 58 82 95 00
Email vrep@vermilionenergy.com
Emergency Number 0 800 18 32 14
Emergency Number Nouvelle-Aquitaine
0 800 18 32 14
(green number)
Emergency Number Centre
0 800 89 60 18
(green number)
Emergency Number Ile-de-France
0 800 30 20 43
(green number)
  • © 2019 Vermilion Energy Inc.
  • Legal
  • Site by Media Dog

Contactez-nousContactez Nous
Menu

L’histoire de Vermilion en France

Le groupe Vermilion Energy Inc. s’est implanté en France en 1997 à travers l’acquisition d’actifs pétroliers. La France, et plus généralement l’Europe de l’Ouest, est une zone géographique à fort potentiel en hydrocarbures et sur laquelle nous concentrons nos efforts.

Entre 1997 et 2012, Vermilion a fait plusieurs acquisitions en France et est rapidement devenu le plus gros producteur de pétrole en France. Nous produisons approximativement 75% de la production française. Nous employons 180 personnes sur le territoire ainsi que plus ou moins 400 personnes d’entreprises sous-traitants à l’année. Depuis 1997, nous investissons massivement et de façon continuelle dans nos activités françaises (1.2 milliard d’euros), ceci a résulté en l’augmentation de la production et en une croissance des opportunités pour nos parties prenantes. 

1997
Acquisition de 636 m3 (636 000 litres) de production en France auprès d'Exxon en janvier 1997 pour 45 millions de dollars. Vermilion a alors augmenté la production française de 50% en passant à 959 m3 (959 000 litres) à la fin 1997. Tout ceci grâce à un programme de travaux très fructueux sur les puits existants.
2006
Acquisition du reste des actifs de production d'Exxon sur le territoire français, ajoutant 556,5 m3 (556 500 litres) par jour, pour un montant de 141,4 millions de dollars. Vermilion a aussi acquis les 10% d’intérêt restants sur le territoire français, auprès d’un partenaire d’Exxon. Mises bout-à-bout, ces acquisitions ont ajouté un total de 620,1 m3 (620 100 litres) par jour de pétrole à la production française de Vermilion.
2008
Vermilion signe un partenariat avec l’entreprise Tom d’aqui à Parentis-en-Born (Bassin Aquitain) pour chauffer 15 hectares de serres économiquement et écologiquement responsables pendant 25 ans grâce à la récupération de l’énergie calorifique issue de l’eau de son processus de production à proximité du site.
2010
Vermilion est reconnu comme une entreprise où il fait bon travailler en France par l’Institut Great Place to Work
2011
Vermilion est reconnu comme une entreprise où il fait bon travailler en France par l’Institut Great Place to Work
2012
Acquisition d’intérêts commerciaux de Total E&P pour 108 millions de dollars en janvier dans six champs pétroliers basés dans les bassins Aquitain et Parisien en France. Ces acquisitions ont ajouté approximativement 349,8 m3 (349 800 litres) de pétrole par jour à la production.
Vermilion a réalisé une autre acquisition en France en décembre, en achetant à Zaza Energy : une production additionnelle de 135,15 m3 (135 150 litres) par jour de pétrole pour un montant de 86 millions de dollars.
Vermilion est reconnu comme une entreprise où il fait bon travailler en France par l’Institut Great Place to Work
2013
Le 3 décembre, à Paris, le Ministère de l’Environnement, du Développement Durable et de l’Energie a mis à l’honneur le partenariat écoresponsable entre Vermilion et Tom d’Aqui en leur attribuant le prix national de l’Economie Circulaire 2013, dans la catégorie « Ecologie Industrielle et territoriale ». Ce prix récompense les entreprises rentables qui fonctionnent sur un mode d’économie circulaire, dans lequel les activités et les processus conservent, réutilisent et régulent les ressources naturelles en vue de mieux protéger notre environnement.
Vermilion est reconnu comme une entreprise où il fait bon travailler en France par l’Institut Great Place to Work
2014
Pour sa première participation, Vermilion a été classée 2ème sur 13 par le Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)*. Vermilion a obtenu un score de 87 sur 100 (10 points de plus par rapport ses pairs).
L’entreprise a obtenu cette année « le prix spécial de l’entreprise socialement responsable » pour son investissement communautaire, ses projets de mécénats et ses journées d’entraide.
Vermilion est reconnu comme une entreprise où il fait bon travailler en France par l’Institut Great Place to Work
2015
Pour sa deuxième participation, Vermilion a été classée 1er par le Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)*. Vermilion a obtenu un score de 100 (score le plus élevé).
Vermilion est reconnu comme une entreprise où il fait bon travailler en France par l’Institut Great Place to Work
2016
Vermilion est l’une des 193 entreprises à atteindre le niveau de reconnaissance « A » en 2016 et l’unique compagnie nord-américaine du secteur de l’énergie figurant sur la liste du Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)*. Dans tous les secteurs, seulement 3 compagnies canadiennes, incluant Vermilion, ont obtenu ce niveau cette année. Vermilion fait partie des 5 compagnies du secteur pétrolier et gazier dans le Monde à être nommées dans la liste « A ».

En Gironde, à La Teste de Buch, Vermilion participe au projet de construction d’un écoquartier. Vermilion chauffe, gratuitement et pendant 30 ans, 550 logements grâce aux calories récupérées de l’eau issue de son processus de production de pétrole.

Vermilion est reconnu comme une entreprise où il fait bon travailler en France par l’Institut Great Place to Work

2017
Vermilion est l’une des 193 entreprises à atteindre le niveau de reconnaissance « A - » en 2017 et l’unique compagnie nord-américaine du secteur de l’énergie figurant sur la liste du Carbon Disclosure Project (CDP)*.
Vermilion est reconnu comme une entreprise où il fait bon travailler en France par l’Institut Great Place to Work
2018
Vermilion signe un partenariat avec la mairie d’Ittveville pour chauffer son écoquartier à vocation sociale. Vermilion s’engage à chauffer gratuitement, et aussi longtemps qu’elle produira du pétrole sur cette zone, 900 logements ainsi que la nouvelle gendarmerie et des locaux déjà existants. 
Vermilion est reconnu comme une entreprise où il fait bon travailler en France par l’Institut Great Place to Work

*Le CDP (projet de divulgation des émissions carbone) est une organisation à but non lucratif (basée à Londres) qui administre un système global de divulgation d’informations environnementales, lequel permet d’accompagner l’évaluation et la gestion des impacts environnementaux des activités. Vermilion rapporte, chaque année et de manière volontaire, les données sur ses émissions, et s’attache à identifier et réaliser des opportunités lui permettant de travailler de manière encore plus durable, sur les plans environnemental et social.


« Sauf indication contraire, les mentions sur ce site internet de "Vermilion", ou "l'entreprise", ou "nous", ou "notre/nos" désignent ici collectivement une ou plusieurs personnes ou activités associés à Vermilion Energy Inc. et/ou ses filiales y compris sa filiale française Vermilion REP SAS dont les opérations et activités font l’objet du présent site internet.) »

Adresse du siège social en France
Vermilion REP SAS
Route de Pontenx
40160 Parentis-en-Born, France
Téléphone +33 (0)5 58 82 95 00
Email vrep@vermilionenergy.com
Numéro d’urgence 0 800 18 32 14
Numéro d’urgence Nouvelle-Aquitaine
0 800 18 32 14
(numéro vert)
Numéro d’urgence Centre
0 800 89 60 18
(numéro vert)
Numéro d'urgence Ile-de-France
0 800 30 20 43
(numéro vert)