Contact UsContactez Nous
Menu

Drilling

If the results obtained during the geophysical acquisition campaign are conclusive, a drilling is conducted to confirm the presence of oil in the deposit and validate the production of a well. 

Exemple du cuvelage d’un forage réalisé à Champotran.

How drilling works ?

Drilling is a set of techniques that can dig a well in the subsurface to depths up to 5 kilometers. It requires a surface site (or platform) to install the drilling rig, its tools and equipment. These dig deep in the subsurface, crossing several geological layers such as sand, limestone or clay, to reach the targeted oil zone. It works in some ways like a giant hand-drill. 

One of the essential elements during drilling is mud. This mixture of water and clay is used to cool the drill bit, to help dig, and to bring rock cuttings to the surface. Like a closed circuit, the sludge already used is sieved on the surface and recycled constantly. 

There are 3 sections of drilling, each time deeper. At each of these stages, a steel tube is lowered that makes it possible to ensure the horizontal sealing of the well and to consolidate the drilled hole with respect to the geology it has traversed. The space between the tube and the rock is then cemented to ensure the vertical sealing of the well. This operation is essential to preserve the quality of the groundwater and to guarantee the solidity and longevity of the structure. 

Schéma des différents types de forages.

The different types of drilling 

  • Vertical drilling: allows the well to be drilled vertically in the zone of the deposit where the oil is likely to be present in the subsurface 
  • Sidetrack drilling: allows drilling of several targets from the same drilling site. This limits the number of sites on the surface and allows the use of existing facilities. 
  • Horizontal drilling: allows several targets to be reached in the subsurface from the same site and to maximize the exchange surface with the reservoir, thus reducing the number of boreholes required. 

 

How do you know if there is oil? 

When the mud and rock cuttings reach the surface, they are separated and analyzed by a geologist. This examination makes it possible to determine the geological characteristics of the rocks the drill traveled through and the presence of hydrocarbons. Additional measurements, called logs, are then made to obtain more precise information on the potential of the oil field. 

Following the drilling, an evaluation phase is conducted to collect information on the deposit and to assess if it is sufficiently promising to be produced. 

If the results are positive, the engineers propose a development plan for the deposit, which includes the number of wells to be drilled, the surface installations to be put in place (collection, storage, etc.) and the associated costs. 

If the results obtained during the geophysical acquisition campaign are conclusive, a drilling is conducted to confirm the presence of oil in the deposit and validate the production of a well.

 


(Unless otherwise noted, references on this website to "Vermilion", or "the Company", or "we", or "our" collectively refer herein to any or all of the people and operations associated with Vermilion Energy Inc. and/or its subsidiaries including its French subsidiary Vermilion Energy France REP SAS whose operations and activities are the focus of this website)

Vermilion REP SAS
Route de Pontenx
40160 Parentis-en-Born, France
Phone +33 (0)5 58 82 95 00
Email vrep@vermilionenergy.com
Emergency Number 0 800 18 32 14
Emergency Number Nouvelle-Aquitaine
0 800 18 32 14
(green number)
Emergency Number Centre
0 800 89 60 18
(green number)
Emergency Number Ile-de-France
0 800 30 20 43
(green number)
  • © 2019 Vermilion Energy Inc.
  • Legal
  • Site by Media Dog

Contactez-nousContactez Nous
Menu

Les différents types de forage en France

Si les résultats obtenus lors de la campagne d’acquisition géophysique sont concluants, un forage est réalisé afin de confirmer la présence de pétrole dans le gisement et valider la mise en production d’un puits.

Exemple du cuvelage d’un forage réalisé à Champotran.

Comment fonctionne un forage ?

Un forage est un ensemble de techniques qui permettent de creuser un puits dans le sous-sol, jusqu’à des profondeurs pouvant aller jusqu’à 5 kilomètres. Il  nécessite un site de surface (ou plateforme) permettant d’installer l’appareil de forage, ses outils et ses équipements. Ceux-ci permettent de creuser profondément dans le sous-sol, de traverser plusieurs couches géologiques comme des sables, des calcaires ou des argiles, pour atteindre la zone pétrolière ciblée. Cela fonctionne en quelques sortes comme une perceuse géante !

Un des éléments indispensables pendant le forage est la boue. Ce mélange d'eau et d'argile permet de refroidir l'outil de forage, de l'aider à creuser et de faire remonter les déblais de roche en surface. A la manière d'un circuit fermé, la boue déjà utilisée est tamisée en surface et recyclée constamment.

Il existe 3 sections de forage, chaque fois plus profondes. A chacune de ces étapes, on descend un tube en acier qui permet d’assurer l’étanchéité horizontale du puits et consolider le trou foré vis-à-vis des terrains traversés. On cimente ensuite l’espace entre le tube et la roche afin d’assurer l’étanchéité verticale du puits. Cette opération est essentielle pour préserver la qualité des eaux souterraines et garantir la solidité et la longévité de l’ouvrage.

Schéma des différents types de forages.

Les différents types de forage  

  • Le forage vertical : permet de forer le puits à l’aplomb vertical de la zone du gisement où le pétrole est susceptible d’être présent dans le sous-sol 
  • Le forage dévié : permet de forer plusieurs cibles depuis un même site de forage. Cela limite le nombre de sites en surface et permet d’utiliser les installations déjà existantes.
  • Le forage horizontal : permet l’atteinte de plusieurs cibles dans le sous-sol depuis un même site et de maximiser la surface d’échange avec le réservoir, réduisant ainsi le nombre de forages nécessaires.

Comment savoir s'il y a du pétrole ?

A leur arrivée en surface, la boue et les déblais de roche sont séparés, et ces derniers sont analysés par un géologue. Cet examen permet de déterminer les caractéristiques géologiques des roches traversées et la présence d'hydrocarbures. Des mesures additionnelles, appelées diagraphies, sont enfin réalisées pour obtenir des informations plus précises sur le potentiel du gisement pétrolier.

A la suite des forages, une phase d’évaluation a lieu pour collecter des informations sur le gisement et savoir s’il est suffisamment prometteur pour être exploité.

Si les résultats sont positifs, les ingénieurs proposent un plan de développement du gisement, qui comprend le nombre de puits à forer, les installations de surface à mettre en place (collectes, stockage..) et les coûts associés.


« Sauf indication contraire, les mentions sur ce site internet de "Vermilion", ou "l'entreprise", ou "nous", ou "notre/nos" désignent ici collectivement une ou plusieurs personnes ou activités associés à Vermilion Energy Inc. et/ou ses filiales y compris sa filiale française Vermilion REP SAS dont les opérations et activités font l’objet du présent site internet.) »

Adresse du siège social en France
Vermilion REP SAS
Route de Pontenx
40160 Parentis-en-Born, France
Téléphone +33 (0)5 58 82 95 00
Email vrep@vermilionenergy.com
Numéro d’urgence 0 800 18 32 14
Numéro d’urgence Nouvelle-Aquitaine
0 800 18 32 14
(numéro vert)
Numéro d’urgence Centre
0 800 89 60 18
(numéro vert)
Numéro d'urgence Ile-de-France
0 800 30 20 43
(numéro vert)